Tags

I could not dip

Nor could I dab

This old sherbet in a bag

 

My lolly struggled to break the rocks

The lolly itself, far too pale and soft

Once eaten I recruited the use of my thumb

Before resorting to my tongue

 

I could not dip

Nor could I dab

This old sherbet in a bag

 

I only went in for a notebook

It stole my heart with just one look

Usually happiness in a little yellow bag

It nearly ruined my afternoon.

(Disclosure: I still ate it, it wasn’t that bad)

 

But I remembered luckier times

When I looked inside to find

Two lolly pops not one

Those where heady days

Alas, those days are gone

 

To where can I assign the blame

For this under-par fizzy dippy game?

Perhaps it was forgotten

Due to a non-existent stock rotation

Not meeting, never mind exceeding

This customers’ expectations

 

I could not dip

Nor could I dab

This old sherbet in a bag

 

I would accept by way of refund

A lifetime supply

Of sherbet dip dabs

Or indeed, stationary

Or (on presentation of original receipt) 49p

 

I know now why it was in the sale

For this is a card shop

Not a sweet shop

And Folks, your sherbet is stale

Farce

Lollipop

